India’s ODI squad for Sri Lanka tour; Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli to return

After winning the T20 World Cup 2024 last month, India are currently on tour to Zimbabwe, playing in the five-match T20I series with a second-string squad, but shortly after, the team will be headed to Sri Lanka to take part in a full limited-overs tour. In the three-match ODI series, the Indian selection committee could pick most of the regular players in the squad after yet another second-string squad for the three T20Is.

Following his retirement from the T20I format, Rohit Sharma is likely to make his return to the ODI format for the first-time after losing the final of the World Cup last year. His compatriot Virat Kohli, who is one of the greatest ODI batters of all-time, and Ravindra Jadeja could also make themselves available for the three-match series in the island nation.

Hardik Pandya could play his first ODI match in Sri Lanka after injuring himself during the World Cup last year. Shubman Gill has had an extraordinary last couple of years in the 50-over format, which is why he will be opening the batting for a foreseeable future, while Yashasvi Jaiswal will be a back-up opener in the series.

Rishabh Pant is in line to play for India for the first-time in ODIs in nearly two years, while Sanju Samson, who scored a hundred in the previous 50-overs match in South Africa, could take the gloves against Sri Lanka. Rinku Singh will be itching to be a part of some competitive cricket on a regular basis after missing out on being a part of the T20 World Cup winning team last month.

Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav have been an integral part of the Indian setup in all formats of the game in recent years, and their inclusion in the ODI squad against Sri Lanka is a foregone conclusion. Jasprit Bumrah might get an extended rest with an eye towards the five home Test matches, which is why the likes of Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, and Khaleel Ahmed are expected to be a part of the fast bowling lineup in the ODI series.

Here is India’s 15-member probable squad for three-match ODI series vs Sri Lanka:

Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Rinku Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Khaleel Ahmed

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode