Zimbabwe announce squad for India T20I series; give maiden call-up to Belgium-born Antum Naqvi

On Monday, July 1, Zimbabwe announced a youthful 17-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series at home against Zimbabwe, which will commence at the Harare Sports Club in six days. The Sikandar Raza-led Zimbabwean cricket team welcomes Antum Naqvi, a Belgium-born cricketer, who has gotten his first call-up in the side subject to his citizenship status confirmation.

Antum Naqvi was born in Brussels to Pakistani parents before moving to Australia at the age of four. He earned a commercial airline pilot licence down under before pursuing cricket full-time where he boasts a strike-rate of 146.80 in seven T20 matches.

Wesley Madhevere and Brandon Mavuta have returned to the Zimbabwe setup after completing their drug suspension. Tendai Chatara has also been called up to the national team after not featuring in the recently concluded series against Ireland and Bangladesh.

The Zimbabwean selectors have dropped the likes of Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Ryan Burl, Joylord Gumbie, and Ainsley Ndlovu after they were part of a 4-1 away drubbing in a T20I series against Bangladesh.

Zimbabwe squad for the men’s T20I series against India:

Sikandar Raza (captain), Faraz Akram, Brian Bennett, Johnathan Campbell, Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, Antum Naqvi, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode