Team India’s performance in group stage of T20 World Cups over the years

India are one of the strongest teams in the global cricketing scenario and one of the full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Apart from this, the Indian team is one of the nine teams to have participated in all editions of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The inaugural season winners have had curvy campaigns in the previous editions of the T20 World Cup.

After winning the trophy once, the Men in Blue missed their second win by a whisker in the 2014 edition and finished as runners-up. 

India’s performance in T20 World Cup group stage games till date

In this article, we will take a look at India’s performance in group-stage games of the T20 World Cup over the years. 


india v pakistan 2007 group stage

In the inaugural season of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, India played two group-stage games, and while their first clash against Scotland ended without a result, the Men in Green took down their rivals in the second. India were up against Pakistan in the second game and defeated the neighbours in a bowl-out. The Men in Blue, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, went on to lift the trophy that year. 


t20 world cup 2009 sportstiger

India remained undefeated in the group stage of the 2009 edition. In both their clashes, India defeated Bangladesh by a margin of 25 runs before taking down Ireland by 8 wickets. India couldn’t advance to the knockout stage of the tournament in the 2009 edition.


t20 world cup 2010 sportstiger

In the 2010 edition, MS Dhoni-led side remained formidable and won both of their group-stage clashes. In the first match, they defeated neighbouring nation Afghanistan by seven wickets. Later, they went on to take down South Africa by a margin of 14 runs. Once again, the Men in Blue were knocked out of the tournament from the Super 8 stage. 


t20 world cup 2012 sportstiger

The inaugural season winners had once again proved their mettle in the group stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. They defeated Afghanistan in the first match before taking down England in the second group-stage game. MS Dhoni-led side couldn’t advance to the knockout stage of the tournament. 


t20 world cup 2014 sportstiger

The 2014 edition of the T20 World Cup featured 16 teams for the first time and the top eight full member nations in the ICC T20I Championship rankings as of October 8, 2012, automatically progressed to the Super 10 stage of the 2014 ICC World Twenty 20. India made it to the final this season but failed to win the trophy after losing the finale to Sri Lanka.



t20 world cup 2016 sportstiger

Similar to what happened in the 2014 edition, India qualified directly for the Super 10 stage and won three of their four matches. In what turned out to be MS Dhoni’s last T20 World Cup as a captain, India lost the semifinal to West Indies and failed to qualify for the finale. 


t20 world cup 2021 sportstiger

India qualified for the Super 12 stage in the 2021 edition, owing to their ICC rankings, and failed to make it to the knockout stage. 


t20 world cup 2022 sportstiger

In the 2022 edition, India directly played Super 12 games and had a better campaign than the past few editions. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, the Men in Blue advanced to the knockout stage but lost their semifinal clash to eventual winners, England. 


t20 world cup 2024 sportstiger

In the latest edition of the ICC mega cricketing spectacle, India remained undefeated in the group stage. They opened their campaign against Ireland and went on to clash against Pakistan and the USA. The Men in Blue advanced to the next stage easily on the back of three wins and being table toppers in Group A.

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode